Liz’s Logophile Giveaway

The surest way to get me to do something is to tell me I can’t do it. This includes, of course, me telling myself I can’t do something. Oops.
Washing that hiatus right out of my hair.

“Liz, why are you doing a giveaway?”

Very good question, Nobody. Well, this is my fifteenth post. I know that in just under a year at my new blogging home, that’s not a whole lot, but fifteen is a good number. I like it.
I also like words. And getting rid of material things I don’t feel I’m using.

So, I’m giving away my “embrangle” necklace.

A few years ago, a selection of words were going to be removed from the Collins Dictionary. Now, I’m more of a Merriam-Webster girl myself, but that’s neither here nor there nor anywhere. In order to commemorate these fallen words, an artist (whose name I can’t find now, so please tell me if you know) engraved the words into small copper plates, and then sewed them onto ribbons to make some really lovely necklaces. The ribbon is long enough to be a choker, a loose necklace, or a sweet bracelet if you wrap it around a few times.

Here is my lovely assistant, Hardy, showing you how he’d wear it:
IMGP3583
Nice, right?

In case you were wondering, “embrangle” means to embroil, mix up, or perplex. It’s fun.
But you just want to know how to get the free thing.

Rules of Liz’s Logophile Giveaway

-Like words.
-On this blog: Tell me a word you love in the Comments section of this post.
-On Tumblr: Reblog the giveaway post with a word you love.
-On Twitter: Tweet a word you love at me.
-Only one entry per person, per social media site. That means each person can have a maximum of three entries.
-Giveaway closes at Midnight GMT, Friday, March 2nd, 2012.
-The winner will be picked at random, probably out of a hat. The more times you enter, the more likely you are to win.
-The winner will be contacted and asked for a mailing address within a few days of the drawing.

What you win: The necklace, a blog-type interview if you’re interested, and some lip balm. Because why not?

Some words I like: quarry, combustion, wound, sacrilege, and camino.

Best of luck!

3 thoughts on “Liz’s Logophile Giveaway

Leave a Reply

