Who wore it best?

I’ve wanted blue hair since I was a kid, though I’m pretty sure that back then I thought that my hair was the only thing stopping me from being a mermaid or a Sailor Scout or an astronaut, not, y’know, reality. Well, I’m testing that theory this summer by dying my hair as blue as I please when I’m doing my cross-country road trip, that way my poor mama doesn’t have to cry every time she looks at me. As I’ve gotten closer to Dye Day, though, I’ve been starting to panic a bit. What if I look awful? Go bald? Don’t become a space superhero mermaid?

A wander into Penney’s for a lint roller brought me a little closer to an almost-answer to one of these questions in the form of a cheap wig. Now, my hair will never be as short, straight, or manageable as this wig is, but it gave me a feel color-wise.

The second I shoved it on my oversized head, my alter-ego, Displeased 90s Gal, came bubbling up.
Photo on 4-6-12 at 2.03 PM

Probably because I fear change.
Photo on 4-6-12 at 2.04 PM #2

The boys joined in the fun to get me to lighten up.
Photo on 4-6-12 at 2.15 PM #2
Photo on 4-6-12 at 2.18 PM

But then T.S. came in and was just too glamorous. Can’t beat that man at anything.
Photo on 4-6-12 at 2.19 PM

For reference, this is my actual set of follicles. Advice?
Photo on 4-6-12 at 2.21 PM

I think I’ll try to go a bit darker when I do it for real, but this was definitely a nice break from sending out applications.

Leave a Reply

