InterRambling: Sweet, Sweet Tampere

It’s been a long time coming, so let’s talk about Tampere. If it were possible, I would get Will Ferrel’s James Lipton on the line to call this little city two hours(ish) northwest of Helsinki to say, “You are a delight,” over and over again–there is no world in which the actual James Lipton would take my calls.

Fresh off the train and still riding my blue-sky-high, I dropped my bag at the hostel and took to the streets. It was a straight shot down the city’s main drag to Hämeenpuisto, a long, narrow park where there was an open air market going on.

IMGP4942

IMGP4947

Might have gone a bit overboard on the banana chips and dried papaya, but that’s the point of being young, hungry, and sunburnt. Besides, they came in handy during a particularly tense game of UNO later on. I was glad, though, to have avoided the French bakery stall, as one of the (really cheerful and generally awesome) staff members at the hostel told me a fist-fight had broken out over a baguette the year before. No bread is so fresh or crusty that I’m willing to risk my face for it.

And that was pretty much my first day. I went back to the hostel, ate my sad assortment of banged-up veggies, and went to bed well before the rockabilly concert a more energetic version of myself had been really psyched to attend. On top of its many other charms, the Tampere Dream Hostel has some really comfy beds.

Day Two I got up early and ran off with a pear meant for a guest who bought the breakfast package. I wouldn’t say I regret it because I love pears, but growing up Catholic means I still have to smack myself in the boob whenever I remember doing it. The day was grey, so I did what I do best, and wandered in and out of cafes and shops. Breakfast was a waffle with more than my fair share of strawberry jam at a cozy place called Vohvelikahvila. I didn’t have far to go–just down the street, actually–to find my favorite joint in town. Kahvila Runo is an obvious choice to be a favorite among blogger-types and I just don’t care. The place has books in several languages for customers to nose through, a massive tea selection, and a dark upper level for those of us who just want to be left alone on a rainy day.

IMGP4978

IMGP4964

IMGP4960

I will say, though, that the bathroom is more than a little frightening.

IMGP4979

I meant to explore a bit more and go to the Lenin Museum, but I didn’t. Next time.

My third and final full day is when I really got my money’s worth out of that second reheeling of my boots. After a brief trip to the post office, I made my way back down to Hämeenpuisto to hit up the Moominvalley museum.

IMGP4994

Right before my arrival in Tampere, I’d been introduced to and gone a bit wild for Moomins. No photos are allowed inside the, but believe me when I say that it’s worth seeing for yourself. The exhibition occupies the basement of a library in the shape of a bird, and takes visitors through every stage of Tove Jansson’s creations. There are prints of the early Moomins from Jansson’s editorial comics, model scenes from each of the books, a dress-up area, a recreation of Moomintroll’s floating stage, and the truly gorgeous scale model of the Moominhouse, handmade by Jansson and her friends. When I realized that none of the tutus or riding jackets in the play area would fit me, I spent what, judging from the glares of my fellow patrons, might have been an inappropriate amount of time reading Jansson’s biography in an easy chair. Fun fact: she was fascinating.

Nearly three hours of darkness seemed like enough, so I headed up to the Pyynikki observation tower. One of the girls from a group of visiting university students from California told me that I had to go there for the best doughnut in town. Being short, I am drawn to climbing to the top of high things and feeling mighty, so I was planning to go up there anyway.

IMGP5020

It was a good doughnut.

The way up to the tower is a green and mercifully shady hill off a residential area. Put mildly, it was beautiful.

IMGP5003

IMGP5013

IMGP5017

Even more so than the stairs to the top, the view took the wind right out of me.

IMGP5051

IMGP5054

IMGP5060

You win again, Finland.

2 thoughts on “InterRambling: Sweet, Sweet Tampere

  1. I am truly delighted to glance at this blog posts which consists of lots
    of helpful information, thanks for providing these kinds
    of information.

Leave a Reply

